HIPAA Seal of Compliance Verification

Injured in an accident? Let us help you!

HIPAA Seal of Compliance Verification

How Long Do I Have to See a Doctor Following an Accident?

After getting into a car accident in Zephyrhills, it is important to seek medical treatment as soon as possible to protect not only your wellbeing but your legal rights as well.

But you might not be aware that most insurance companies and even the state of Florida require anyone in a car accident to visit a doctor within a certain amount of time to file a claim or use their PIP benefits.

Our medical team at Impact Medical Zephyrhills explains what the PIP rule is in Florida and what to do following an accident.

Why You Should See a Doctor Right Away

No matter how severe the accident was, you should seek medical attention as soon as possible after an accident to get any injuries assessed and documented.

Also, there is a statute of limitations that you must abide by to receive your personal injury protection (PIP) benefits. Going to the doctor in the timeframe required will ensure that you are eligible for insurance reimbursement for your injuries. More on that shortly!

Accident Injuries May Not be Obvious Right Away

Some accident-related injuries can take a few days or even weeks to manifest. But this doesn’t mean you should wait to receive care! It is important to get checked over, even after a minor car accident like a fender bender.

Two common examples of injuries that can take a few days to manifest include concussions and soft tissue injuries like whiplash. If you have any of these symptoms following an accident, seek care as soon as you can as you could have a concussion:

  • Difficulty concentrating
  • Cloudy thinking
  • Dizziness
  • Headache
  • Nausea
  • Blurry vision
  • Trouble remembering new information
  • Low energy
  • Sleeping more or less than usual
  • Balance issues

We recommend that you visit a doctor within 72 hours to be properly assessed following an accident, even if you don’t feel any soreness or have an obvious injury. We can assess less visible damage to help prevent the onset of symptoms that take time to manifest.

Florida’s PIP Rule

In Florida, you have up to 14 days from the date of the accident to see a state-approved doctor for any accident-related injuries. Failing to seek medical treatment within this timeframe could affect your rights to make a claim and get compensation for your injuries.

This 14-day rule exists for two reasons. First, waiting to get medical attention after an accident can make your injuries worse. So, the sooner you get professional medical care, the sooner you can start healing and prevent complications.

Second, proving that your injuries were caused during the accident is crucial to making your personal injury protection (PIP) insurance claim. When you receive medical care right away and it is documented, the link between your injuries and the accident is clear.

Types of Medical Services Covered By PIP

In Florida, personal injury protection (PIP) insurance is mandatory and insures drivers for medical expenses that they may have from a vehicle collision.

PIP coverage offers benefits that can be used for a variety of medical services including:

  • Emergency room care
  • Ambulance transportation
  • X-rays
  • Primary care
  • Dental services
  • Rehabilitative services
  • Medication

Remember, seeking medical care from approved providers is an important factor in determining whether your medical treatment following an accident is covered by your PIP benefits.

Get After-Accident Treatment Today

If you are in a car accident, don’t wait. Seek medical care as soon as possible to ensure that you get the treatment that you need, and that you fall within the timeframe for your Florida PIP benefits.

Our team is here to help you recover following an accident! Schedule an appointment at Impact Medical Zephyrhills today; 813-706-5156!