Does My Car Insurance Go Up If I Don’t Seek Medical Help After an Accident?
The aftermath of a car accident can be quite stressful and to top off all the medical bills or car repairs, you might be wondering if an insurance premium rate hike is on the horizon when the accident is reported.
In this case, it is important to remember that insurance plans vary, and many include accident forgiveness so don’t worry. But it is crucial to treat any injuries you sustained promptly to prevent further pain or money problems as you recover.
Our team at Impact Medical Sun City Center discusses the ins and outs of car insurance and what could happen if you don’t seek proper medical care within your policy limits following an accident.
Car Insurance Plans Vary
Every insurance plan is different. While some might penalize the driver following an accident, some include accident forgiveness, usually if it is your first accident. If you aren’t sure if your plan includes accident forgiveness, check with your insurer before you experience a car accident.
For example, car insurance companies like Progressive offer accident forgiveness as soon as you become a customer. For certain incidents that are out of your control, the accident can be forgiven.
Another benefit that you can get from being a loyal customer of Progressive for five years, and accident-free for three, is Large Accident Forgiveness. In this case, your rate will not increase even if you are in an accident. Of course, it is important to remember that this can vary by state.
Florida is a No-Fault State
Florida is considered a “no-fault” state which can impact how your doctor bills your insurance and how your insurance covers your medical bills. It is required that all Florida drivers carry Personal Injury Protection (PIP) in addition to their car insurance. This permits anyone that is involved in an accident to seek medical care from their own insurer without the hassle of waiting for a police report to decide which party is at fault.
The caveat? You must receive medical care within 14 days of an accident to be eligible to use your PIP benefits to pay for your medical bills.
PIP Rates Could Rise with Each Use
PIP insurance covers 80% of medical bills and up to 60% of lost wages following an accident. This means that after you hit your insurance limits, you will likely be left with something to pay in the way of medical bills.
In Florida, the average PIP premium is $198 but this rate will fluctuate based on how many accidents you have had and your credit-based insurance score.
But don’t let that scare you away from using your PIP benefits. There are Florida statutes in place that protect drivers from insurance companies that might gouge them. One statute states that an accident should not cause unreasonable insurance rate hikes unless the driver was “distinctly at fault.”
What Happens If I Skip Medical Treatment?
It can be tempting to not report your car accident to keep your insurance policy premiums from going up. However, this is a bad idea, especially if you have injuries. Your insurance company might also offer first-accident forgiveness.
From out-of-pocket medical expenses to chronic pain, ignoring car accident injuries could cost you more in the long run. A thorough and timely examination by a physician who is well versed in car accident injuries will not only help you heal faster but prevent pain from becoming chronic.
Untreated injuries can affect many aspects of your life including your day-to-day well-being and your ability to work and earn money.
Bottom line: Make sure to seek medical treatment within 14 days of your car accident, even if you don’t feel pain immediately following the accident.
Car Accident Injury Treatment
Don’t let insurance premium hikes get in the way of seeking treatment and using your PIP benefits. You pay for them monthly after all!
Don’t wait. If you were in an accident, come visit our car accident clinic at Impact Medical Sun City Center. Schedule an appointment at (813) 938-5195!